Office of Sponsored Programs
    Symposium Sponsors

OSP Final

Library Final

Honors Final

Annual Student Research and Creative Endeavor Symposium


21st Annual Student Research and Creative Endeavor Symposium

Friday, March 23, 2018

9am - 3pm

Walb Classic Ballroom

Student research and creative endeavor was highlighted at the March 23, 2018 Symposium on the Indiana University–Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW) campus. Over 100 undergraduate and graduate students presented their research in 70 posters which were judged by faculty teams.

The Student Research and Creative Endeavor Symposium, a valuable part of the student experience, recognizes active learning through research.The Symposium is open to undergraduate and graduate students from all disciplines - humanities, social sciences, business, visual arts, nursing and many more. Based on points given by the faculty judges, the top three posters in the graduate and undergraduate categories are awarded cash prizes.

John O' Connell, Dean of College of Visual and Performing Arts, announced the prizes. The judging criteria reflects Poster Content, Student Presentation and Poster Appearance.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 Student Research and Creative Endeavor Symposium:


Graduate Student Awards:


First Prize: $250
Joseph Smith and Shahab Shah, Department of Engineering
Disease management through Collective System Design (CSD) approach
Faculty sponsor: Dr. David Cochran


Second Prize: $200
Lauren Tom, Department of Nursing
Exploring the Feasibility of HPV Self-Collected Sampling
Faculty sponsor: Dr. Deborah Baresic


Third Prize: $150
Cindy Berger, Department of Educational Studies
Evidence-Based Practices for Students with Autism Spectrum Disorder in Special Education
Faculty sponsor: Dr. Jane Leatherman

Undergraduate Winners:

First Prize: $250
Nicholas Yergens and Jedidiah Davis,  Department of Psychology 
Gender Differences in Types and Targets of Aggression
Faculty sponsor: Dr. Jody Ross

Second Prize: $200
Urvi Joshi, Aaron Dills, Eric Kim, and Cameron Cook, Department of Computer Science
Building an Affordable Smart Home Based on Internet of Things
Faculty sponsors: Dr. Zesheng Chen (Computer Science) and Dr. Guoping Wang (Electrical and Computer Engineering)


Third Prize: $150
Tianna Schuerman, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Perception and Knowledge of Emergency Responders Concerning Augmentative/Alternative Communication (AAC)
Faculty sponsors: Professor Sharon Mankey and Professor Mariesa Rang

2017 - 2018 Symposium Advisory Board

College of Education and Public Policy

Rama Cousik, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Department of Professional Studies


College of Health and Human Services

Kawther Hamash, Ph.D., RN

Assistant Professor

Department of Nursing

Doermer School of Business

 Kent Kauffman, J.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Economics


College of Engineering, Technology, and Computer Science

 Beomjin Kim, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair

Department of Computer Science


College of Visual and Performing Arts

 Andres Montenegro, MFA

Associate Professor

Department of Visual Communication and Design


COAS: Sciences

 Punya Nachappa, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Biology


College of Engineering, Technology, and Computer Science

Fawad Niazi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Department of Civil and Mechanical Engineering



Scholarship of Engagement

Sherrie Steiner, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Department of Sociology


COAS: Social Sciences

Michael Wolf, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair

Department of Political Science


For questions about humanities posters, please contact Dr. Ann Livschiz (, member of the Poster Symposium Planning Committee.

Why participate in the Symposium?

Establish mentoring relationship with your faculty mentor

Make new discoveries

Explore your creativity with technical support

Showcase your research

Enhance graduate school and job applications

Gain experience working with a group

Develop skills to explain your research to a diverse audience

Design your own professional poster

Gain experience for future grants and proposals

Get published!


Tina Gasnarez

Program Assistant

Office of Sponsored Programs